Eligibility and Terms


Applicants must be full-time journalists, with a minimum five years professional experience, whose work appears regularly as an employee or freelancer. Print, broadcast, photo, documentary and Internet journalists are eligible. There are no academic prerequisites.


Employee applicants must obtain a leave of absence from September 1 through April and return to their place of employment where applicable. All fellows must agree not to publish or broadcast during the fellowship, maintain Ann Arbor residency and attend all program seminars and meetings.

Fellowships Awarded

U.S. applicants will be considered for either a general or specialized fellowship.
Specialized fellowships are: 

•Burton R. Benjamin Fellowship in Broadcast Journalism
•Benny Friedman Fellowship in Sports Journalism
•Daniel B. Burke Fellowship in General Studies
•Ford Fellowship in Transportation Technology and Environment
•Time-Warner Fellowship
•Mike Wallace Fellowship in Investigative Reporting
•Knight Fellowships in Specialty Reporting: Business, Education, Law, Medicine
•Karsten Prager Fellowship in International Reporting
•William C. Richardson Fellowship for Public Policy and Philanthropy

U.S. fellowships are offered for eight months.
International fellowships are offered for either four months or eight months, as funding is available.


Fellows are selected on the basis of past performance, future promise and, above all, leadership in some aspect of journalism. Great care goes into assembling classes of fellows that mix the type and size of news organizations as well as personality, geography and background. Typically, 12 Americans are joined by six international colleagues.

Selection is determined by a committee of distinguished journalists and University of Michigan faculty. U.S. finalists are interviewed at Wallace House in April and announced in early May.

To Get Started with the Application

Go to application information for U.S. applicants.
Go to application information for international applicants.

UM logo Knight-Wallace Fellows | The Livingston Awards
© 2012 University of Michigan